Breathtaking (in several senses) Northern California

Northern California: whew. Where to start? I guess chronological would fine.

In Davis we stalked Peter’s friend Ibo until we tracked him down and hung out at his place (where I also met the lovely and awesome Marlaina) until I mentioned marriage and he kicked us out. We then headed to Scott’s, where his mom made us dinner and we enjoyed good conversation for many hours. In fact, it somehow turned out that Scott and I stayed up talking until 3am, hours after Peter hit the sheets. It was a good evening dearly paid for the next day.

The next morning we arrived at Tobin’s house in Chico, where I proceeded to sleep the day away while Peter and Tobin shopped and planned for our camping trip. We ended my day of darkness with wonderful sushi, served up by the lovely Kim. We spent the next 4 days (3 nights) camping at Lake Spaulding. Peter and Tobin would spend the days on Tobin’s boat out on the lake fishing while I soaked up the peace and solitude of the empty campground. I loved every moment of hiking around on the rocks, listening to the stream, enjoying the company of the squirrels, lizards, various birds soaring overhead, and other creatures. I didn’t so much enjoy being attacked by quail at one point. Alas, no bodily damage was incurred- but they tried!

Our final goodbyes of the road trip and we headed to Humbolt National Forest before turning toward Oregon. I would say more about our trip to the Redwoods, but there are no words to describe the majestic experience that is that forest. After staying in Crescent City, our drive through the remainder of California (up hwy 199) into Oregon has been more of the breathtaking same. Amazing. We listened to Joseph Campbell be interviewed by Bill Moyers during the drive- no other audio book could have been more appropriate.

So now we’re back in Oregon, heading back to Portland. We’ll be there for an action-packed week (just with work and to-dos, mostly…but hopefully some fun, too) before we zip back to Utah, then fly to LA, then out of the country. Whew. All the talking with Scott, followed by peaceful Lake Spaulding, then the beautiful Redwood forests, followed at last be the butterflies in my stomach as I look forward to our last week and a half in the country~ and I’m left completely breathless…

Scott (pictured) told me he wanted to see this on the blog. Be careful what you ask for. ;)

Scott (pictured) told me he wanted to see this on the blog. Be careful what you ask for. 😉

Tobin and Peter getting ready to go fishing at Lake Spaulding in Tobin's new boat.

Tobin and Peter getting ready to go fishing at Lake Spaulding in Tobin’s new boat.

Aaand now I have the whole campground to myself. :D

Aaand now I have the whole campground to myself. 😀

Cali Redwoods~ they render me speechless. These are at Humbolt's Avenue of the Giants

Cali Redwoods~ they render me speechless. These are at Humbolt’s Avenue of the Giants

Ineffible profundity.

Ineffible profundity.

This tree was estimated 1600 yrs old and over 1 million lbs when it crashed down in 1991~

This tree was estimated 1600 yrs old and over 1 million lbs when it crashed down in 1991~

2 thoughts on “Breathtaking (in several senses) Northern California”

Leave a Reply

