Bug’s Kitchen Kindy

One of the secondary projects that has made its way into my service has been to work with pre-school kids, mostly on their alphabet. This past year, I’ve spent one hour per week in the “kindy” (pre-school) teaching the 35ish students (and the two kindy teachers) the English alphabet, one letter at a time. In addition to that, I’ve accrued a collection of students who come to my kitchen 4 days each week after lunch to play, have stories read to them, and practice their alphabet in what I call my “Kitchen Kindy”. These pics are all from the kindy closing a week or two ago. If I knew how, I’d upload a video of the kids singing the alphabet with me (complete with actions). But for now, enjoy these pics!

Star student in my Kitchen Kindy and cousin-brotha Patrick and Papa Bob.
Star student in my Kitchen Kindy and cousin-brotha Patrick and Papa Bob. This boy is more primed and ready for 1st grade than most kids our village sees.
Teacher Julie surprising me a thank you for my help this year and an invitation to return to an upgraded position in the kindy next year.
Teacher Julie surprising me a thank you for my help this year and an invitation to return to an upgraded position in the kindy next year.
I'm totally caught off guard. And totally excited about my new basket.
I’m totally caught off guard. And totally excited about my new basket.
The fam. Uyo, Yam, Giana, Torinne, Patrick, Peter...
The fam. Uyo, Yam, Giana, Torinne, Patrick, Alicia, Peter…
Peter! With Uyo in the background.
Peter! With Uyo in the background.  DSCF2739
A rare picture of Mama Claudie, the quiet light of our nakamal. <3
A rare picture of Mama Claudie, the quiet light of our nakamal. ❤ In the background is my counterpart’s mama- another favorite! ❤ LOVE these women!
Tho woman who holds my world together for me: Uyo Rachel.
Tho woman who holds my world together for me: Uyo Rachel.
Giana and Victorinne, cousin and smol sista, respectively. Also students in my Kitchen Kindy.
Giana and Victorinne, cousin and smol sista, respectively. Also students in my Kitchen Kindy.
This one also sneaks Mama Claudie in!
This one also sneaks Mama Claudie in!
Mama Claudie congratulating her 2nd youngest daughter on completing another year in Pre-School (one more to go before Primary!)
Mama Claudie congratulating her 2nd youngest daughter on completing another year in Pre-School (one more to go before Primary!)
The Kindy graduating class.
The Kindy graduating class.
Auntie Yam giving a salusalu to Mark in lieu of Chief Dick (my big Papa). Mark is now their youngest living son. [RIP Maeka. :*( ]
Auntie Yam giving a salusalu to Mark in lieu of Chief Dick (my big Papa). Mark is now their youngest living son. [RIP Maeka. :*( ]
Uyo, as temporary gaurdian of Giana, delivers the baby powder and salu salu congrats to Giana, another star of my Kitchen Kindy.
Uyo, as temporary guardian of Giana, delivers the baby powder and salu salu congrats to Giana, another star of my Kitchen Kindy.
Leave a Reply

